The electorate of Pearce is named after Sir George Foster Pearce (1870 – 1952), a former Australian Member of Federal Parliament and the longest serving member of the Australian Senate. Pearce was born in South Australia but moved to Western Australia in 1891.

The electorate of Pearce is one of the most diverse in the country. Pearce stretches as far north as Lancelin on the coast and as far south as Beverley in the central Wheatbelt. Covering more than 13,000sq km the electorate includes the northern suburbs of Quinns Rocks, Yanchep and Two Rocks; the rural centres of Gingin, Toodyay, Bindoon, Northam and York and the unique east metropolitan regions of the Darling Ranges and the Swan Valley.

Industries within the electorate vary from fishing and tourism on the coast; grain crops, sheep, cattle, and fruit growing in the rural inland areas; restaurants, vineyards and wineries in the Swan Valley; the RAAF pilot training at Pearce Air Base; Agricultural Colleges at Muresk and Narrogin, and historic country tourist centres at Beverley, Toodyay and York.

The division was first proclaimed in 1989 and has been held by the Hon Fred Chaney (1990-1993), the Hon Judi Moylan (1993-2013) and the Hon Christian Porter (2013 – present).