Local MPs investing in rural youth for the future of agriculture

Federal Member for Pearce, Christian Porter, has joined other State and Federal Liberal Members of Parliament to launch a new scholarship program for regional youth engaged in agricultural studies.

The Sir David Brand Scholarship program will offer two $5,000 scholarships per year for three years available to first year students enrolled in the Bachelor of Agricultural Business Management at the Muresk Institute in Northam. One scholarship will be funded by Federal MPs, the other by State MPs.

“The agricultural sector offers a fantastic career path for youth in regional Western Australia and I am pleased to join other State and Federal MPs to personally sponsor these scholarships,” Mr Porter said.

“CY O’Connor Institute and Charles Sturt University are collaborating in delivering the agribusiness undergraduate course at Muresk, which is the only rural based tertiary agricultural education facility in Western Australia.

“I have long been a supporter of Muresk Institute, allocating $10million for capital works in the 2012 State Budget as the then Treasurer. This is another way I can show my support for this important Institute and industry in our local economy.”

Member for the Agricultural Region, and key driver of the Sir David Brand Scholarship program, Jim Chown, said he was extremely proud of the firm support shown by his State and Federal Liberal Party colleagues for the development of agriculture and agribusiness in Western Australia through tertiary education, as evidenced by their sponsorship of the scholarship program.

The scholarship program was named in honour of Sir David Brand KCMG whose family farmed at Mullewa and later Northampton and whose son Bernard himself attended Muresk Institute.

In 1959 Sir Brand became the 19th Premier of Western Australia, a position which he held for four terms, becoming the longest serving Premier in the history of Western Australia.

For more information on the scholarship, students can visit the Charles Sturt University website at: