$6.7 million boost for local governments in Pearce

Local governments in the electorate of Pearce will benefit from delivery of the latest round of funding under the Australian Government’s four-year $9.3billion Financial Assistance Grants programme.

Federal Member for Pearce, Christian Porter, said the Coalition Government understood how critical local governments are to local services in our communities.

“The Coalition Government recognises the important contribution councils, as the level of government closest to Australians, make to our national economy and the leadership they provide at a local community level,” Mr Porter said.

“Local governments play a pivotal role in bringing communities together and producing local solutions to local problems. Importantly, this funding is untied and supports local governments to deliver on local priorities with the services, facilities and infrastructure communities need most.”

Mr Porter said the Australian Government is providing a total of $2.3billion to local governments across Australia under the 2014-15 Financial Assistance Grants programme. The fourth quarterly grants payment will deliver $575million towards priority local projects nationwide. Councils in Pearce will receive the following Financial Assistance Grants funding:



City of Swan$1,309,598

City of Wanneroo$1,547,534

Shire of Beverley$333,984

Shire of Chittering$285,707

Shire of Gingin$431,230

Shire of Kalamunda$584,455

Shire of Mundaring$717,005

Shire of Northam$834,643

Shire of Toodyay$370,355

Shire of York$361,032


NB: Some councils jurisdictions cross multiple federal electorates. Electorates are as at 2010.

Full details of Financial Assistance Grants allocations to councils are available online at